Mined Land Reclamation Board


Colorado Mined Land Reclamation Board Members
Patrick OrtizSubstantial Experience in Conservation
Karn StiegelmeierSubstantial Experience in Conservation
Nell Wareham-MorrisSubstantial Experience in the Mining Industry
Jill NelsonSubstantial Experience in the Mining Industry
William BakerSubstantial Experience in Agriculture
Matthew Cook Redmond VRepresenting the Soil Conservation Board
Tim MauckRepresenting the Department of Natural Resources

The Colorado Mined Land Reclamation Board (CMLRB) is a multi-interest citizen board which establishes the regulations, standards and policies that guide the Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety. The Board was created in 1976 by the Colorado General Assembly. Members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the legislature, serving terms of 4 years. The composition of the Board is established by the Colorado Mined Land Reclamation Act.

View Board Member Biographies

Duties and Activities


In the Minerals Program, the Board implements the Colorado Mined Land Reclamation Act and is actively involved in the decision-making process for controversial permit issuance and enforcement actions. The Board:

  • Approves or denies permits and permit modifications when there has been public comment,
  • Issues violations,
  • Sets civil penalties,
  • Sets program policy and promulgates rules, and
  • Revokes permits and forfeits bonds.

The Coal Program acts independently of the Board on nearly all decisions. The Board:

  • Adjudicates violations and permit decisions after all administrative appeals at the Program level have been exhausted,
  • Revokes permits and forfeits bonds, and
  • Promulgates rules.